The origin of La Salle University, goes back to the seventeenth century in France where St. John Baptist de La Salle founded the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools in 1680 (Instituto de los Hermanos de las Escuelas Cristianas), to provide Christian, academic and, above all, humanistic instruction to needy boys and young men of that time.
  • Three centuries later, Brother Manuel de Jesus Alvarez Campos, PhD., conceived the idea to create a University that would be administered by the Brothers of the Christian Schools to meet the need for a new breed of new professionals able to respond to the historical, political, social and economic development of the country, which in the 1950’s and 60’s, was immersed in a process of industrialization.
  • It was on February 15, 1962 when La Salle University opened its doors for the first time, with the relocation of the Cristobal Colon High School, originally situated in the San Rafael neighborhood, to the Hipodromo Condesa neighborhood, in May of that same year it was announced that the High School would be transformed into a Higher Education Center, thus becoming the first La Salle University in Latin America.

Discover our history and tradition

President Dr. Manuel de Jesús Álvarez Campos. FSC
President Dr. Guillermo Alba López FSC
President Dr. Francisco Leonel Cervantes Lechuga FSC
President Mtro. César Rangel Barrera FSC
President Dr. José Cervantes Hernández FSC
President Dr. Lucio Tazzer De Schriver FSC
Mtro. Raúl Valadez García, fsc (2000- 2006) Dr. Ambrosio Luna Salas, fsc (2006-2009) Mtro. Martín Rocha Pedrajo, (2009-2011)
Mtro. Enrique González Álvarez
The first stage in the educational history of La Salle University begins in 1962 with the creation of the School of Accounting and Management, when the acquisition of the Benjamin Franklin Street property made possible the construction of the first buildings. The Schools of Engineering and the Mexican School of Architecture were opened in 1964, and the first stage was completed with the opening of the Law School in 1967.
In the second stage, the School of Philosophy (1968), the Mexican School of Medicine (1970) and the School of Chemistry (1973) are all inaugurated; the latter originally as part of the School of Engineering. In this period the Professional Schools Building is built and the property on which now stands the School of Medicine in the Santa Lucia area in the south of Mexico City is acquired. The Social Action Movement (Movimiento de Acción Social: MAS) is founded, and the Language Laboratory, the Center for Mathematics, Computers and Systems and the Campus Ministry (1971) are also created.
During this period, the infrastructure, the academic- formative life and the administrative management of the University are consolidated. The Pierre Lyonnet Auditorium, the cafeteria, the engineering laboratories are built and the Independent Union of Workers of La Salle University (Sindicato Autónomo de Trabajadores de la Universidad La Salle- SATULSA) (1975) is created. The Cultural Extension Center is opened and the construction plans for the Library are made. The General Statute is adopted, the La Salle Medical Services (1976), the Educational Services Division (1977) are created and the administrative center is strengthened. Master’s programs are established that support the creation of the Division of Post Graduate Studies and Research (1979).
The physical infrastructure is organized and growth problems are solved. The School of Religious Sciences is consolidated and a MBA program with different companies was implemented. There was a change in the legal structure of La Salle University, which consisted of phasing out the incorporation of their curricula from the UNAM, and obtaining the Official Recognition of Studies’ Validation (RVOE), by Presidential Decree of Miguel de la Madrid Hurtado, on May 21, 1987.
The physical infrastructure of the University was transformed and beautified with the construction of Plaza La Salle, a new cafeteria, Rectory, laboratories and facilities of the School of Chemistry, the building that houses the Vice-Rectories, School Services and four classrooms for professional assessments. Renovation work began in Unit II, the artist Manuel Felguerez made the monumental mural in Plaza La Salle. The School of Educational Sciences was inaugurated and a degree in Elementary Education was established, the Master’s in Teaching for the Legal Profession was opened, University Reflections magazine was founded. The Lasallian academic work was extended to other cities inside the Mexican Republic, with branch campuses in Cancun, Morelia, Cuernavaca and Ciudad Obregon.
During this period the Casa Rosa, Casa Tetela (Cuernavaca) and the Administrative Tower were remodeled; the Mexican School of Medicine was reconditioned, the La Salle Theater, and the parking lot of Unit I and current Unit II were built. The training of teachers with specialties and Master’s degrees are promoted; a complete curriculum reform under the criteria of flexibility, relevance, access and excellence is initiated. The Areas of Medicine and Law officially become Schools. The Center for Research is founded and researchers from the National Research System (SNI) are incorporated. The La Salle International Center is founded; University Promotion, a non-profit civil association is established to assist students with financing. The Student Council of the University or CUE (1994) is founded along with the operation of more than twenty student organizations. The 2020 Prospective Study is formulated to view the work of the University, create automated systems and a technological development plan, as well as the updating of organizational and procedural manuals.
Presidents (Deans: Raul Valadez Garcia, fsc (2000 – 2006), Dr. Ambrose Luna Salas, fsc (2006-2009), (Mtro.?).. Martin Rocha Pedrajo, fsc (2009-2011) and (Professsor) Enrique Gonzalez Alvarez, fsc (2011 – …) The last decade can be characterized as a period of restructuring. Some properties are acquired near Unit I; the Bicentennial Plaza is remodeled and other areas such as bathrooms in the pool and elevators in Unit I and II, etc. Full accreditation as a Quality University is given by the Federation of Private Mexican Institutions of Higher Education (FIMPES); 80 alternative courses are included, new Bachelor’s Degrees, specialties and Masters are opened, the MIEX program is implemented and the Business, Chemistry, Engineering and Architecture, Design and Communication Areas officially become Schools. Core Courses are implemented in all undergraduate degrees offered. In the area of integral formation of young college students, the Learning and Development Communities Program and the Student Life Plan Project are implemented. The areas of Academic Systems and Administrative Systems are unified, to become the Subdivision of Information Technology.
Mtro. Enrique González Álvarez (2011- ….)